Music for Miles: How to Get Free Music

As promised in my previous post, today I will share some of my free legal music sources with you. Those of you who frequent the internet as much as I do may know about some of these already, but for others, this is like opening a whole new world. Let’s put it into perspective: a lot of people download music illegally from web because they think it’s the easiest way. Well not only is it, well, illegal, but it’s also unnecessary. There are tons of free LEGAL sources online to get great music.

 

One of my long time favorite sites is Noisetrade 

“NoiseTrade is a Nashville, Tennessee based company committed to promoting the fair trade of music by and for artists and fans via the Internet.” Artist submit their music to be put on Noisetrade for FREE. Then you, the average internet going person, is allowed to download said music. It’s really that simple. You can tip/ give them money if you want, but you don’t have to. Some of my favorite music I’ve found over the past year has been through this website. Each artist usually puts up anywhere from 1-10 songs. They also release samplers which are kind of like mix tapes. Just today they put out 4 Indie Label Samplers.

Check them out at: www.nosietrade.com.

You can also find them on Facebook and Twitter

 

Another website that I absolutely LOVE is The Wild Honey Pie.

This is a new found gem. TWHP is a music blog based in New York. They post about new music, new albums, review concerts, and more! One of my favorite features on the site are the sessions they record themselves and put up for download. There are two types of sessions: “Buzzsessions” and “Honey I’m Home”. Buzzsessions are when staff members of TWHP “travel with a different band to a different part of New York City and record sometimes-intimate/sometimes-wild versions of two or three songs which are given away for free.” Honey I’m Home is a segment where TWHP “welcomes a different band into Sounds Like A Fire home studio in Brooklyn and record intimate versions of two or three songs” which are then also given away for free.

Click here to check out the sessions: http://www.thewildhoneypie.com/category/sessions/

You can also find them on Facebook and Twitter 

 

Both those sites have a TON of amazing music, so I’ll leave it at that for now. I’ve decided to make this, the whole sharing music blogs and such, a new part of my blog and have entitled it, “Music for Miles”. Not entirely sure how often I’ll be doing these posts…it depends on how nice you all are to me 😉

I’m off to take more medicine and eat ice cream; it’s one of my sick person privileges. Hope your day is better than mine!

3 thoughts on “Music for Miles: How to Get Free Music

  1. Good blog you have here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  2. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site. He was once entirely right. This publish actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Pearl and the Beard | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

Leave a comment