Concert: Sofar Sounds

Hello lovely readers!

I feel as though I don’t need to say it anymore, but I will. Sorry I’ve been off on posting. My school runs on trimesters, so I’m actually just getting done with finals. School is school is school. Hard work and lots of it. Blah blah blah…okay let’s get down to business.

So as some of you may know, I got to check going to a house show off my music bucket list. Back in January I was able to attend Sofar Sounds in Chicago. Sofar Sounds is, as their website states, “an innovative concept, dedicated to bringing the best of new music to an unplugged, intimate, unusual space or venue. Mix in a crowd of dedicated music lovers, other artists, and industry professionals, and you have an evening which promises electric performances and new networks.” Their goal is not only  to allow artists a more intimate place to play their music, but to provide those of us who truly enjoy listening to the music a place to hear great artists outside of the bar scene.

A friend of mine actually told me about Sofar a few years back, but they hadn’t made their way to Chicago yet. So imagine my excitement  when I saw that they would finally be venturing into my neck of the woods. The show was fantastic and I had a great time. I was asked to write a post for Sofar’s blog and it was recently posted so I’m just going to link you to that: Post Here 

Once you look at that, come back and I’ll give you a special treat.

Go on.

You gone?

Okay serious go!

.

.

.

.

.

.

Back? Awesome!

Now that you’ve read about the amazing musicians that were present, here is some footage of the night thanks to Rooftop Sessions Chicago

If you would be interested in attending or playing at a Sofar Sound show, you should go to their website and sign up for the newsletter. Each month you’ll receive an email saying where there will be shows that month. For those of you in Chicago, there is actually another show coming up this month on the 23rd. Each show is invitation only, so if you’d like to attend anywhere, be sure to sign up! If you have questions, leave them in the comments and I’ll get back to you asap.

And now time for everyone’s favorite part: FREE MUSIC!

 

For free music from Gia of Light Light, see my previous post here

***Thank you for reading! I am about to go on Spring Break so I will actually have time to post! Pinky promise. And I will be doing a contest/giveaway soon so keep a look out! 

2 thoughts on “Concert: Sofar Sounds

  1. Pingback: Sofar Sounds Chicago | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

  2. Pingback: THANK YOU! | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

Leave a Reply

