The 7 Days of Christmas

As mentioned in a previous post (“Close to Home”: Little Light), I am not the biggest fan of Christmas music. That being said, I don’t HATE Christmas or Christmas music. I just don’t like the over playage (not a word, but you know what I mean) of Christmas songs on radios and in stores.

But like every year, now that its a week before Christmas, I’m getting into my Christmas music mood. So to prove to you that I’m not the Grinch, I’m going to tell you some of my favorite Christmas songs.This is probably my last post before Christmas so I just wanted to say thank you to all my lovely readers by giving you some free holiday music.

[edit: Soundcloud is being weird and keeps displaying my picture instead of the album cover…sorry about that. At least the picture is with John Barrowman :)]

Alright, enough talking. I now present to you, The 7 Days of Christmas.

1. Love is Christmas- Sara Bareilles

Sara Bareilles released this last Christmas and it has become one of my favorite songs. I listen to it even when it’s not Christmas because it’s a song about love and how we don’t need a big meal, presents, or even a particular season to love one another:

Love is not a toy, and no paper will conceal it.
Love is simply joy that I’m home.

2. Jingle Bells- Anna Vogelzang

Anna Voglezang is a really awesome artist that lives in Wisconsin  If you don’t know who she is, don’t fret; I’ll be posting about her at a later date. I really like this Voglezang’s version of jingle bells because it’s super upbeat and adorable. It makes me smile every time I hear it.

You can get this song and a few other Christmas songs by her  for free here (It’s name your price so you can just put $0 and get it for free. Or, if you have some extra cash, you can give some money and support this awesome artist)

3. Snow- Sleeping At Last

Sleeping At Last is actually from the Chicago area (close to where I attend college) and I got to see them earlier this year. Ryan, the lead singer, is a very talented and kind man. This song was a part of his Yearbook project he did last year. He’s currently working on a new project which looks very promising. I’ll be making a post about that soon, so if you like this song, make sure to keep a look out!

So let the bells keep on ringing
Making angels in the snow
May the melody surround us
When the cracks begin to show

Like the petals in our pockets
May we remember who we are
Unconditionally cared for
By those who share our broken hearts

You can get this song and the rest of Sleeping At Last’s Christmas collection for free here

4. Oh Come, Oh Come Emmanuel- Zerbin

I actually just got this song with a Christmas collection on Monday. I heard it and immediately fell in love with the way they remade it. It’s a classic taken rock; I thought it was a really cool take on an original.

You can get this song along with a few more Christmas songs by Zerbin here

5. Sleigh Bells & Reindeer (feat. Lucy Schwartz and Brian Fennell)- Act As If

This little gem is a part of The Music Bed holiday sampler I found on Noisetrade. I liked it because it is catchy, cute, and something new. Out of the eighteen songs on the sampler, this is one of my favorites.

If you want to check out the rest of the sampler (which has a bunch of different artists) you can find it here

6. This Year- The Young International

This is another song off the aforementioned holiday sampler I found on Noisetrade. I know I keep saying this, but this song is really cute. After listening to this song and a few of their other songs, I really like their style and will be listening to them more often. The way it tells a story of a boy longing for his love and how she eventually comes home is the reason why it made it on my top seven. I especially like the first and last verses:

I hear a melody
A winter song to sing
I wrote in the snow
I hope that guides you home
////////////////////////////

I sing the last refrain
Through frosted windowpane
I swore I saw your face
You finally found your way
Again, you can get this song along with the rest of the sampler here

7. O Come- Dogs On Tour

I love this version of O Come. I think they did a great job with the instruments they picked and pace they choose to go. This is one of those songs that I can listen to over and over again until I drift softly off to sleep. It’s so peaceful and relaxing. Dogs On Tour is a collaboration of  a few bands. They have a lot of Christmas music they’ve released, but this one has a special place in my heart.

To get this song you can just press the download button above. If you like this, you can also get more of their Christmas music for free here 

So there you have it! Those are a few of my favorite Christmas song this year. If you have a favorite one, feel free to leave tell me about it in the comments; I would love to check it out! I hope you enjoy the songs I suggested and I pray that you have a Merry Christmas!

One thought on “The 7 Days of Christmas

  1. Pingback: Interview: Dogs On Tour and The Hudson Branch | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

Leave a Reply

