“Close to Home”: Little Light

Hello all!

First of all, thank you (YES YOU!) for checking out my music blog. It’s always nice to have people actually look at what you do. Secondly, I’ve decided that once a month I will be posting about a local (meaning in the Chicago area) musician or band that I fancy, because who doesn’t like a little home lovin’? I have lovingly entitled these post, “Close to Home.”

Okay so down to business. Today I’m recommending you look at a local band called Little Light. Little Light is made up of the lovely Gia Margaret and dapper Alain de Courtenay. Both Margaret and Courtenay work on music independently, but somewhere along the way, they decided to collaborate and thus “Little Light” was born.  The two came together in 2010 and made their debut on Youtube with a song written by Courtenay entitled, “Blue Impossible Moon,” one of my personal favorites.

(Filmed by Rooftop Sessions Chicago in March 2011)

The duo continued sing with each other and in January of  2011 they released their music out into the world via Winter EP. Their EP is made up of four beautiful acoustic songs that no sane person can listen to without smiling. Their lyrics are touching and their voices go together like peanut butter and jelly.

(Shutter Speed written by: Gia Margaret, Performed by: Little Light)

I got the chance to see them live at The Union (a venue my school owns) and they were absolutely charming! Alan was all smiles and Gia was amazingly talented and plays more instruments than I can even begin to remember, let alone list off. They were both very kind and enthusiastic about their music. I’ve heard a rumor that they will eventually be recording a full length album. From what I can tell right now, the two are currently working on solo projects, but perhaps they are sneakily recording music together in preparation for the aforementioned album. One can hope, right?

 You can download the EP from iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-winter-ep/id416104724

Also, one thing you will learn about me is that I am all about the free LEGAL music! Any time I recommend you something, I will always include a link to free music if it is available.

Here is Gia’s solo Soundcloud page where you can download some of her original tracks for FREE: 

This is Little Light’s cover of “Baby It’s Cold Outside”

I will be the first to admit I am not the biggest Christmas music fan. Yes, I am one of those people who hate that radio stations start playing Christmas music before, or even close to Thanksgiving. That being said, there is something so magical about this rendition that it stays on my playlist all year long.

If you liked what you heard, please comment and let me know below in the comments! I love hearing from people. Also if you have any suggestions as to what I should listen to, please feel free to leave that pretty slice of information in the comments below as well. Hope you are having a spectacular day!

3 thoughts on ““Close to Home”: Little Light

  1. I do like the way this band harmonizes. The Blue Impossible Moon ended, there was another link to a self-entitled song, Little Light. It features more of her voice and both of them playing a guitar – very nice. This was quite treat.

  2. Pingback: The 7 Days of Christmas | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

  3. Pingback: Concert: Sofar Sounds | "Discreet" Musical Murmurings

Leave a Reply

